Categorized | 3rd Season, Track and Field

IASAS Day 2 AM Recap

Posted on 09 April 2010 by iasas

Story by Melissa Huston, Nihal Krishan, Ann Lee, Stanton Yuwono

Track and Field IASAS day two kicked off with three quick paced 110 meter hurdles by the boys.

The preliminary rounds saw a few athletes fall but finish strong. In the second heat, SAS Eagle’s Todd Shel knocked down the last hurdle before gaining back his momentum to finish in first while JIS Dragon’s James Eve fell close to the finish line, missing out on his opportunity to make the finals.

TAS Tiger Liam Wilson finished second in the over all times for all three heats with a time of 16.32 seconds just behind SAS captain Blake Peters who finished with a time of 15.79 seconds.

Qualifying for the finals are Blake Peters and Todd Shell of SAS, Tiger’s Liam Wilson, David Batchelor. Zach Greer and Yoshitaka Tamiya of ISB, ISM’s Ali Majied and Camille Dilindi of ISKL.

For the girls 100 meter heats, ISM’s Amirah Majied placed first in over all times with a time of 16.47 seconds followed closely by ISB Panther Kelsey Noah with a time of 16.91 seconds. All three SAS Eagles followed up in fourth, fifth and sixth placed times overall. Megan Crabtree and Victoria Baldos of JIS and ISB also qualified for the finals that will take place on Saturday at 9:30am.

Meanwhile, the competition level rose another level as the IASAS rookie and SAS Junior Alex Amstrup rose to the challenge in the boys long jump finals. Coming into the final three jumps, Amstrup was in second place with the best jump distance continuing to switch between TAS Athletes Abe Ho and Liam Wilson. Amstrup secured first place with a personal best of 6 meters and 24 centimeters.

“I came here not knowing what to expect because it’s my first IASAS, I thought that I would be amongst the bottom few. It’s really humbling to be a first-timer and to perform at my best,” Amstrup said just after winning the event.

TAs Senior Liam Wilson finished the event with  a cool fourth place finish with a distance of 6 meters and 5 centimeters while fellow TAS senior Abe Ho took silver with a distance of 6 meters and 16 centimeters.

“Me and Abe have always been close in our distanced and we’re always competing against each other,” Wilson said when asked about his competitiveness with his teammate, “It’s this competition that propels us to perform better than the other.

Senior SAS captain Max Shaulis won bronze. After leaving the Long Jump even to compete in another event, Shaulis was the last jumper to compete in the finals. His strong place finish gave him a final distanced jump of 6 meters and 15 centimeters just one centimeter off of second place.

For the girl’s discus throw, Megan Polis, Rosie Fisher and Julia Fie’eiki from JIS and Becky Kreutter, Emma Graddy from SAS and Christine O’Keefe from ISM went onto the finals after a long qualifying match. Eagle Emma Graddy came in first in the finals with a 30.83m. Julia Fie’eiki came in second with a 28.05m and Rosie Fisher third with 26.02m.

There was a slight confusion of the final standings during the awards ceremony, resulting in awarding a medal to an athlete who did not place- but after a few moments it was corrected and the finalists were awarded their hard earned medals.

Before the closing of the AM session, the last two events saw SAS and ISM secure big wins in both the girls and boys 200 meter finals.

For the boys, SAS swept the board winning all three medals for first, second and third. Captain Max Shaulis finished first with 22.86 seconds followed closely by Kevin Holt with a time of 23.20 seconds and senior Blake Peters just 0.22 seconds behind. The Eagles racked up a total of 17 points that will go towards the overall point score totals. ISB’s Taylor Bonneau placed fourth followed by ISKL Panther Takeshi Nagagawa and JIS Dragon Andreas Krohn.

ISM Bearcat Smriti Sridhar finishes well ahead of the rest of the pack to finish first in the girls 200 meter finals. Photo by Jessica Nguyen-Phuong

The girls 200 also featured all three Eagles who qualified from the prelims. After a tight start, ISM Bearcat’s Smriti Sridhar – an anticipated forefront sprinter – pulled ahead of the rest of the pack to cross the finish line first with a time of 26.61. ISKL’s Sabrinne Gibson took second with a time of 27.13 seconds and SAS Eagle Isabella Shaulis placed third with 27.57 seconds. SAS girls Liz Conklin and Isabella Mulder and TAS runner Eunice Lin also secured points for their respective schools. The girls were warmly congratulated by several of the ISM athletes after their race with a man made tunnel that they all were encouraged to run through.

Comments are closed.