Categorized | 2nd Season, News, Swimming

IASAS Swimming in Singapore- Friday Updates

Posted on 30 January 2010 by iasas

SAS girls beat IASAS recordBy Evan Petty, Stanton Yuwono and Ann Lee


In the 200m IM final, fans had the privilege of witnessing a convincing win by freshman Jane Rungrotekitsakul of the Bangkok Panthers with a time of 2:28.26 while Maya Kale of Singapore and Sabrinne Gibson of Kuala Lumpur battled it out for second. Neck-and-neck for the vast majority of the 200 meters, neither seemed to be able to out-swim the other, though in the end Kale came out on top, pulling ahead in the final few meters, finishing second in 2:32.30 with Gibson finishing third in 2:32.41.

In the 800m freestyle final the crowd saw Bangkok Panther and former Singapore Eagle Paige Carmichael comfortably clinch gold with a time of 10:12.84, followed by Eagle Tanvi Ahuja in 10:21.93 while Jakarta Dragon Lotta Toppari placed third less than two seconds behind with a time of 10:23.72.
The 200m breaststroke final saw a new IASAS record set by TAS Freshman Tove Bjork with a time of 2:45.32, ahead of the previous 2:48.41 record set by Jennie Liddell of SAS in 2003. ISKL Panther Diana Redza finished second in 2:48.81 while ISB Panther Taylor Burke secured third in 2:54.50.

Despite the heavy rain and strong gusts of wind, the 100m freestyle final took place with no delay and saw the top three finishers within seconds of each other. Jane Rungrotekitsakul of the ISB Panthers clinched gold in a hard-fought race, with a time of 1:00.23. A change of pace from Netta Chalermpalanupap of Jakarta took her from fourth place to second, securing silver in 1:01.42. Therese Vainius of the SAS Eagles finished third, miliseconds behind with a time of 1:01.48.

As the rain subsided, the 400m medley relay teams took their positions by the starting boards for the final event of the day. Bangkok started off with a strong start with Jane Rungrotekitsakul pulling slightly ahead of Singapore’s Jenny Alberts. Holding the lead until the third leg, the Panthers were bumped to second as Maya Kale took off after Carolyn Koh completed the second leg, and gained the Eagles the lead. SAS anchor Therese Vainius pulled further ahead in the final leg, placing first with a time of 4:39.59, breaking the IASAS record set in 2009 by Singapore in 4:40.28. ISB placed second (4:48.41) while the Tigers finished third (5:01.32), both breaking their respective school records.


The 200m individual medley saw Viktor Bjork of Taipei place first with a time of 2:13.20, followed  by Justin Buck of Jakarta with a time of 2:16.80 and ISB Panther Joe Kaewbaidhoon with 2:16.99.

Beginning in lane four after his previous victory in the preliminaries, Johnathan Lee of TAS was considered an early favorite to take gold in the 800 meter freestyle before Ted Chritton stole the show in front of his home crowd with a nine second lead. Chritton finished in 8:50.89, Lee with a time of 8:59.31. Dennis Chu of SAS took the bronze with a time of 9:07.59.

The 200 meter breaststroke finals saw Justin Buck of Jakarta pull out ahead in front of Singapore’s Alex Rossinsky at the end and clinch first place with a time of 2:29.02. Haakon Brekke and Alex Li of ISB and TAS, placed third and fourth respectively, with a margin of just milliseconds.

With overcast skies, the 100m freestyle finals saw the finishing times all within mere seconds of each other. Levar Goossen of ISKL took on an initial lead shortly after the start of the race, and finished first with a time of 52.61. In second place with a time of 53.58 was fellow team member Kareem Gibson, followed by Nelson Turk, captain of the ISB team with a time of 55.36.

After the rain stopped pouring and the skies cleared up, the relay swimmers all prepared for the last race of the day. The Taipei Tigers and the Singapore Eagles went neck-and-neck during the start of the first leg but the gap widened as the swimmers began their second lap. Eagle Duncan Clysdale bridged the gap for SAS, though Taipei’s lead once again widened during the third and fourth leg. The Tigers placed first (4:.03.86), breaking the IASAS record (4:08.37) and the TAS record (4:09.36). SAS took the silver (4:12.96), and the ISB Panthers, bronze (4:28.19).

Friday morning results:


Friday afternoon results:

Friday Afternoon Results

Comments are closed.