Categorized | 2nd Season, Swimming

IASAS Swimming in Singapore- Thursday Updates

Posted on 28 January 2010 by iasas

By John Liao and Aarti SreenivasDSC_0300web


The freestyle 200m finals saw Jonathan Lee of Taipei clinch first place and Ted Chritton of Singapore secure second.

For the 100m breaststroke, Kareem Gibson of Kuala Lumpur took first for both the preliminary and final rounds with a time of 1.08.86, three seconds away from breaking the 2005 IASAS record set by Spencer Raymond of Singapore.

For the 50m butterfly, KL Panther Levar Goosen placed first (26.43), breaking the IASAS record (26.52). He was followed by Johnathan Lee, who broke the TAS school record. Dragon Dimas Sukirno took bronze, breaking the JIS school record.

In the boys 100m backstroke, ISB Pather Joe Kaewbaidhoon was awarded his first gold by breaking his school record set in 2004 by Schylar Rockery with a time of 1:02.26. Tiger William Cheng took second (1:02.63), and Eagle Ted Chritton third (1:04.58).

The 400m Individual Medley began with Tiger Viktor Bjork leading in the fly, Eagles Dennis Chu and Dan Yamamoto, and Dragon Justin Buck close behind. Bjork pulled further ahead during the backstroke while Buck, Chu and Yamamoto battled for second. Ultimately, Bjork won gold (4:42.71) and Chu silver (5:00.44). Buck took silver (4:51.42) breaking the JIS school record.

The 200m freestyle relay saw the Eagles, Dragons and Panthers head-to-head for the first leg. But Christian Fam sped ahead in the second leg taking the lead for ISB. The Panthers won gold and set a new ISB school record of 1:41.16. The Eagles took second (1:43.99), and the Dragons third (1:46.63).


The 200m freestyle saw two SAS swimmers, co-captain Therese Vainus and Amanda Alberts secure first and third respectively. JIS swimmer Netta Charlermpalanupap took second place with a time of 2.15.27 for the Dragons.

Freshman Tove Bjork of Taipei crushed the IASAS record for the 100m breaststroke with a time of 1.16.31. Claiming second place was ISKL Diana Redza, with ISB Taylor Burke in third.

ISB Panther Jane Rungrotekitsakul pulled in first in the girls 50m butterfly (30.00) breaking the IASAS record (30.70). She was followed by Eagle Maya Kale (30.55) breaking the SAS record (30.70). ISKL Panther Stephanie Chan placed third (34.02).

In the 100m backstroke ISKL Panther Sabrinne Gibson placed first with a time of 1.07.20, breaking her school record (1.08.23). Placing second was Jenny Alberts of SAS with a time of 1.09.65. Netta Chalermpalanupap of JIS took third with a time of 1.10.54.

In the girls 400m IM, ISB Panther Taylor Burke finished in 5 minutes, 22.99 seconds, well ahead of second-place finisher Tove Bjork, who touched in 5:27.23 setting the new TAS record. Eagle Maya Kale secured third (5:29.37) with ISKL Panther Diana Redza in fourth after touching in 5:31.22 smashing the ISKL record of 5:33.88 she set previously this year.

The SAS girls 200m freestyle relay team consisting of Captain Roxy Hesh, and Freshmen Amanda Alberts, Tanvi Ahuja and Monica Chritton, won gold with a time of 2:01.52. SAS was the clear winner by the third leg while ISB and JIS fought for second place competing head-to-head. The Jakarta Dragons took silver (2:05.87) and the Taipei Tigers took bronze (2.06.68).

Official Final Results:


Official Records:




Comments are closed.